Yamaha Rhino Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Banned
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I bought an old 660. It has always been a little slow going into reverse. As in you put it in reverse and rev it and you hear it chattering a bit then it will finally go into gear with a jolt. Today driving it around I started it and it wouldn't move forward. just a grinding noise. I put it in 4wd and it moved enough so I could park it. Any input on this is much appreciated because we need this to do maintenance on our property. Thanks guys!

·
Super Lead Moderator
3,809 Posts
I'm no mechanic but looks like the boss has come out of the rear diff. I/m sure someone in the know will chime in.

·
Premium Member
891 Posts
Hard to see the photo. But it may also be the rear diff mount has broken

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Banned
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So I took it apart and the frame piece that supported the rear diff had cracked off. I had it welded up and I attempted to reinstall every thing because it all looked good. fresh grease and new gear oil. It is still not working well as I think I reinstalled everything wrong. It runs great minus the fact that I am yet to blead the breaks but the (I believe its called) mid shaft that goes from the motor to the diff keeps falling out. I cant figure out what I did wrong but I can only drive it for a moment before the shaft falls out on the motor side. any info will be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
3,142 Posts

Did u put this spring back in?

·
Banned
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Are you allowed to cuss in this forum? Must not have seen it come out when I initially took it apart. Is there anything else I should know before I take it apart again as far as that shaft goes? Im about to order it is there anything I should order with it? Thanks.

·
Super Lead Moderator
3,809 Posts
Yep, shuckie darn and dadgumit are about it...LOL

·
Premium Member
3,142 Posts
It happens

·
Premium Member
3,142 Posts