Yamaha Rhino Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, newbie here and I got a question for all of you. I need some help figuring out a bill for some work I did for a guy on his 660 rhino. I work at a small 2 man garage(me and my dad) and grew up wrenching on anything with wheels and a motor. Earlier this month one of our neighbors by the shop came over and asked if I'd work on his rhino. His kids ride it around his lot and every year he takes it to the sand dunes in michigan. Anyways this thing smoked like a mosquito fogger and one day it just wouldn't start up and run for him. So anyways, did a leakdown found the problem to be with the piston rings and the bore due to what I assume to be sand getting past the air filter. So I put an overbore kit and a gasket kit on it and installed a UNI air filter and this billet intake adaptor so sand won't get in anymore. Than I did some general maintenance and wound up having a little over 300 bucks worth of parts in this thing. My question is how much time would you guys say I should charge the guy? It was one of them deals where he wasn't concerned about it and when I had some spare time and the desire to work on it I would work on the thing. Problem is I didn't really keep track of the time I had in it and when I did work on it, I wasn't working on it real hard. So I was hoping some of you guys would know what the going rate for this kind of work at a dealer is and than I can use that to help me charge this guy. I'm not going to charge him an arm and a leg for it like a dealer but I'm not going to do it for free either. If you guys could give me your opinions/suggestions on this I'd appreciate it.
Thanks

·
Registered
1,045 Posts