Yamaha Rhino Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2004 Yamaha rhino 660
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bought a 2004 Yamaha rhino and 2 wells later the head gasket “blew”. Pretty sure it was already blown but I had that fixed. When I got it back, it started making a grinding/slipping noise when I let off the gas but not hitting the break. It does this for a few seconds and then something catches and noise stops. It doesn’t always do it. Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
2004 Yamaha rhino 660
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Bought a 2004 Yamaha rhino and 2 wells later the head gasket “blew”. Pretty sure it was already blown but I had that fixed. When I got it back, it started making a grinding/slipping noise when I let off the gas but not hitting the break. It does this for a few seconds and then something catches and noise stops. It doesn’t always do it. Any ideas? Thanks in advance!
here are some photos of a possible problem area. I AM NOT A MECHANIC. I know just enough to get me in trouble. I also have a video if I can get it to upload of the noise.

Attachments

·
Registered
2004 Yamaha rhino 660
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
here are some photos of a possible problem area. I AM NOT A MECHANIC. I know just enough to get me in trouble. I also have a video if I can get it to upload of the noise.
Welcome! Might try capturing the noise on video if possible and post for the group to assess.
I can’t find a option to upload video, only photos

·
Registered
700 Posts
The video is pretty easy. Post it on Youtube, copy the link Youtube provides and paste it in your post - instant video.

·
Registered
2004 Yamaha rhino 660
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
So here’s a link to the video. May 13, 2021 the noise is towards the end of the video. I’ve also noticed if I hit the gas while it’s making the noise it stops.

·
Registered
207 Posts