Yamaha Rhino Forum banner

Help...my Rhino is failing in multiple ways...

9K views 28 replies 6 participants last post by  Floydboy76 
#1 ·
Hello, and thanks to all who read this and lend an opinion to me, I greatly appreciate it. To be upfront, I'm a very novice person when it comes to mechanical stuff, and I figured the best way to learn was to stop relying so much on paying local shops and start digging in on my own, cautiously of course. I do have a copy of the service manual, it's a 2006 Rhino 660.

I bought a 2006 Rhino 660 from my cousin who sold it to me for very cheap because of white smoke coming out of the exhaust. I took it to a local repair shop who had high reviews and a good rep among known people, he said I had to have the top end rebuilt. He rebuilt the top end and fitted it with a new Wiseco piston, and had it up and running for me when I took it back after 2600 USD, this also covered him cleaning the carb, cleaning the "CVT" as he put it, new battery, new tires (ITP Mudlite XL).

The second day of driving since the rebuild, I noticed that the electrical fuel pump my cousin had installed failed, I replaced the pump and all was working again. I used this pump:

https://www.napaonline.com/en/p/BK_6101050